Clean Eating? So Have I Been Eating Dirty All This Time?

By Zerline Hughes

It’s that time again: New Year’s resolution-do-better-than-last-year-I’m-gonna’-live-right-and-lose-a-million-pounds time of year. And of course, being that it’s December, we’re all gonna’ try to jump the gun and get started a month early, right?

My vice is food. I LOVE food. And a real problem is that both my husband and I actually cook very well. And my daughter, too! So not only are we unable to resist Pizza Hut, Checker’s and any place that serves a decent deep fried seafood platter, but we love our own cooking, too. I’m talking cheesy lasagne, rich quiche, slow-cooked turkey and rice, queso fundito dip with greasy chorizo, deep fryer fried oysters and shrimp, jambalaya, shrimp etoufee with bread for dipping … it’s pretty bad. But soooo good!

Being that it’s time to get right (and stay right), I am ready to stock our pantry and refrigerator with food that I can actually eat and not feel guilty about. This one website I ran into this summer came up again today. It boasted “clean eating.”

What?

foods-clean-eating-shopping-listAre you familiar with this? There’s gluten free eating, vegetarian eating, vegan eating, portion control eating, and now clean eating? I can’t keep up! So what: do I need to wash the food? Are you only allowed to eat freshly grown produce? What’s the deal?

If you’re interested in a new start – but nothing dramatic where the regimen requires eating nothing with a face, nothing that’s white, or nothing that has flavor – join me in learning 10 tips to clean eating.

And here’s a definition for you:

“Eating clean is a good way to refresh your eating habits: it’s about eating more of the best and healthiest options in each of the food groups—and eating less of the not-so-healthy ones. That means embracing whole foods like vegetables, fruits and whole grains, plus healthy proteins and fats. It also means cutting back on refined grains, added sugars, salt and unhealthy fats. And since you don’t have to count calories or give up whole food groups, it’s easy to follow. Here are some helpful tips to get you started.” – Eatingwell.com

Good source: The Science of Eating

One thought on “Clean Eating? So Have I Been Eating Dirty All This Time?

Leave a Reply

