Farewell Scale – For Now!

By Zerline Hughes

scale4I KNOW I’m doing great. Two gym visits and two Zumba classes a week for about two weeks now. Cucumbers and almonds as mid-day snacks for two months. Doing my best not to eat past 6 or 7 pm for a week. Keeping a Costco-sized pack of water in the car so I can ensure I’m drinking 32 ounces of water a day. Not bad, right?

So why is the scale lying to my face!? Why do I consistently get on thinking “I got this,” and then realize, I got nothing?!  I get on in the morning, in the afternoon, in the evening. And, of course, I make sure to pee and take off all my clothes before getting on. The numbers are simply not moving they way I think they should be.

windowscaleInstead of getting off the scale and feeling accomplished, I’m ready to frisbee that thing out the bathroom window. Every day. Seriously!

I’m not a big Oprah follower, but earlier this month a friend posted an article about her recent weight loss success. Get this: it’s NOT getting on the scale. When I first read that I thought, yeah, I guess that makes sense – just do you! But I didn’t listen. I wanted to be able to brag to someone that I lost a pound a week, or convince myself that my return to near-daily exercise and meal prep was all I needed to slim down.

Like I said, I know I’m feeling better, breathing better, stretching better, eating better. So for now, I should be happy with that. That should be proof enough. So I’m going to go with the flow. It was this quote by Oprah that spoke to me:

“When the weight started to come off, I needed to get clear on my intention. I could lose weight to fit a dress size, or attend an event, or to make other people like me. But I couldn’t keep it off for those reasons,” she said. “I always put the weight back on. This time I changed the intention to, ‘I want to be the healthiest I can be — physically, emotionally, spiritually.’ So the process and purpose of losing shifted for me. It was easier, because my intention was clearer.”

I must realize I’m just a tad bit older now. About six years ago, I noticeably lost weight in a short amount of time by putting in some hard work and giving up bread (oooh, so hard!). But that was around my mid-30s. Now, ahem … I’m in the latest and last stage of my 30s. My body has changed. My metabolism has apparently slowed waaay down, and my lifestyle is 100 percent different. I had more time and money back then to spend at the gym, on personal trainers, pole dance workout sessions, Zumba classes. Now, that time and money go toward more family-oriented stuff.

So here I am. I’ve identified my limitations so I’m going to now work around them. And I’m gonna’ try Oprah’s way – for at least a week. Do you think you can give up the scale for a week? Let’s try it together, starting …. now! I hereby announce this the week of no-scale-watching (and hopefully, no scale throwing).

I hope you’re right Oprah!

Read that MadameNoire article, “Oprah’s Secret To Her 42-Pound Weight Loss? Not Focusing On The Scale.” Are you ready to stop watching the scale and simply monitor your healthy lifestyle? Let’s do it together!

Come say hey at one of my classes! Stop by early and let’s compare notes.

One thought on “Farewell Scale – For Now!

Leave a Reply

